Sharing all that is good in me…Touching all that is good in you…

Humming a story

Beija_Flor___Hummingbird_by_JinBlackIt was one of those bright afternoons with a little chill in the air that I loved so much. I had nothing to do (or so I thought) except watching the sun go by… disappearing somewhere between the Yellow Oleanders and the quaint-looking building that stood blocking the sky from my residence.

I love winter afternoons. Its warmth. Its peace. Its sheer indolence. My mind remains most active during these times when I am left all by myself staring out of the window… watching every little thing (of little relevance) with great intensity. It was one of those purposeless afternoons with great possibilities. I was sitting alone for some time. Time treaded softly caught between the outer quietness and the mischief in my mind. The book I was reading was almost finished. I let it rest aside while my eyes kept looking for something of interest in the life outside. But there was not a soul in sight. Bored, I was about to doze off when suddenly a little hummingbird appeared from nowhere and found itself a branch on a hibiscus tree near my window. It peered at me as if really happy that I was there and chirped. My heart leapt in joy. At last something that will give company to my much-protected solitude. And that too such a friendly little thing!

Perhaps it had read my mind for the tiny winged-creature started chirping in long stretches…  almost like singing… with me as its only audience. Such sweet sounds it made! I was glued to my half-hidden position behind the window and was listening to it intently… praying the moment to never end…

“Chirp…chirp…chirp… Chirp…chirp…chirp…” I was almost in a magical trance… “Chirp…chirp…chirp… Chirp…chirp…chirp………..and suddenly… “Achoooo!!!!” I sneezed. That too with such atrocity that the sound even surprised me! I couldn’t believe I was capable of doing something as primitive as a “sneeze” at that absolute divine moment!

Do I still need to tell the tragic end?

The hummingbird, obviously frightened to its core, stopped humming instantly and flew away. Enormously devastated, I felt like kicking myself. Oh, we humans!

P.S. Or did you expect some mushy KJ-kinda love story happening between me and the humming prince (turned into a bird by some wicked witch)???? Humans!

Leave a comment